God’s timing

As I was browsing on my Facebook newsfeed, I came across this photo below posted by one of my friends.

Image: Facebook

Image: Facebook

It makes me think of how God’s time really run? How does God’s time really work? As what Joyce Meyer says, “we often say God is never late,  but generally He isn’t early either. Why? Because He uses times of waiting to stretch our faith in Him and to bring about change and growth in our lives.”

Exodus 13:17-18 tells us that God led the Israelites the longer, harder way on their journey to the Promised Land because He knew they were not yet ready to go in. There had to be time for their training, and they had to go through some very trying situations. They wasted a lot of time wondering about God’s timing, but God never failed to take care of them and show them what He wanted them to do. When the Lord closes a door, it means that He has something better for me than I had for myself. (Meyers)

Imagine this way, you see an open door. You want to walk through it. But before you get there, the Lord quickly shuts it. You are left no choice but to turn around and walk away, each step asking ‘why?’. Sometimes, you are fortunate to learn the reasons later on and sometimes you don’t. Either way, you continue to put one foot in front of the other and learn to praise God in the hallway.

This revelation reminded me of this verse:

For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” says the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

I don’t know what my future holds, the doors that will be opened, the opportunities that will arise. I’m in between. Last night, as I was also browsing inspirational quotes on Pinterest, I came across this saying from Corrie Ten Boom (she’s the author of the book, The Hiding Place. It’s about her life hiding both physical and in spiritual place):

Image: Pinterest
Image: Pinterest

 

So simple yet so powerful. When I think of Corrie ten Boom and her life-threatening situation, my situation pales in comparison. Corrie didn’t know if she would live to see the next day, let alone her future. But she continued to trust that the Lord had a plan. Her strong faith and unwavering trust inspire me.

Likewise, in my in-between, “when I can’t trace the Lord’s hand, I’ll trust His heart.”

 

Your sweetest Melody, ❤

Leave a comment