Christ is Enough

“God will strip you off until you have come to nothing, and when you have nothing you will have God, and when you have God you have everything.”

Every life tells a story. Every person has a story. You have your own stories about parents and grandparents, family members and others. Some of them are good stories that you are proud to recall. Others may not be so memorable, but they all combine into the intricate weave that forms the pattern of life.

I am glad to share with you the story of one of the closest persons in my life. I have known her for almost a year and as my ministry leader, she influences me to my passion and especially to my spiritual growth.  I see her as a cheerful and simple woman who is devoted serving with His Master, yet behind those sweet smiles, she experiences a lot of struggles, personal problems and challenges. I never know her deepest life story until she allows me to write and share to the world how God directs her journey.

“Growing up in a broken family is not so easy. There have been times I feel a great loneliness and longing. Sometimes I asked, “Bakit sila may mama at papa? Bakit ako wala?” I compare myself to others and I feel that I am not complete. LOST.UNLOVED.REJECTED

As a child, I went through life searching for love because I was empty inside. Because of that, I actually look for someone I could love and loved me back. I’m always searching for love. I feel like my life is an endless loop of unhappiness. Lagi akong tumatanggap at naghahanap ng satisfaction sa ibang tao. Akala ko masasatisfy ako sa ibang tao, sa ibang bagay o  sa mga pangarap ko. Yes, I feel relieved and happy at some time, BUT after that, still I always ended up being hurt kasi iniiwan din ako. Ika nga “there is no such person or thing as permanent in this world, everything passes away, everything changes” – (walang permanenteng tao o bagay sa mundo, lahat nawawala, lahat nagbabago ). A true-life word! Paulit-ulit lang na bumabalik sa ganung sitwasyon ang buhay ko. Pauli-ulit lang akong nasasaktan.

Until one day, while listening to a youth pastor, she said that, “God will strip you off until you have come to nothing, and when you have nothing you will have God, and when you have God you have everything”. And that makes a big impact to my life. Sabi niya aalisin ng Panginoon lahat sa buhay natin hanggang sa wala nang matira sa atin, dahil sa sitwasyon na walang wala na tayo doon lang natin makikita na may Diyos na sapat sa buhay natin.

Then God gave me the thought to comprehend what the pastor said.

  1. First, God wants us to empty ourselves so that He can fill us and He can move to our life. He wants to LIVE with us but He wants us also to LEAVE every pain, bitterness, anger, and all the junks in our hearts. Sometimes we are not aware that our lives had already contaminated with so much pollution from this world that we do not even have the space for His word and for His presence. For God to enter our lives fully, we must be ready to create space: longing opens the heart to receive (Psalm 63). The door to our inner self, heart, and mind must be opened. “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Matthew 6:21). God needs openings in our lives to get through to us, to communicate with us, to stretch us to greater growth, to nourish us, to revitalize and renew us with love.
  1. We need to TRUST in Him. “It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in man. It is better to take refuge in the LORD than to trust in princes” (Psalm 118:8-9). On our own, we are not strong enough to bear our burdens. On our own, we won’t be able to endure the trials set before us. In every storm, He is always beside us.  He is never too far. People may disappoint us but God will never and only God can satisfy the longing of our hearts, our mind and our soul.
  1.  We need to be DEPENDENT only to God. It is not bad to be open to someone, but we ought to be more dependent to God. Sometimes if we depend on others, we end up being hurt because no man is perfect, everyone has flaws and not all the time people will be with us, they might leave or they might change but God promised us “I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” He will never leave us in every season of our lives.

I have learned that the greatest things in life are not things. Everything I need can never be found from this world because the world can never complete and satisfy my whole being.  Only when I find the Author and Finisher of my faith, I have found real LIFE and LOVE. Though I’d failed to have a perfect family, I thank God for giving me the most wonderful people—my spiritual family. They support me in every way, help me and mold me to be a good and faithful servant of our Master. So now, no matter where I stand, what I face or where I’ve been or who I am, Christ is enough and He is more than enough for me! Jesus Christ is my EVERYTHING! He keeps showing me He is good. I trust Him to carry the burden. I trust Him to carry me. I believe no matter what else happens in life—He is all I need!”

Above all those words, I want to share with you the song that motivates me to write and tell my story to many people. Just remember Christ is enough to fulfill all He has planned for you. I hope even in the small piece of my life story inspired and blessed you! To God be the glory!

Christ is my reward
And all of my devotion
Now there’s nothing in this world
That could ever satisfy

Through every trial
My soul will sing
No turning back
I’ve been set free

Christ is enough for me
Christ is enough for me
Everything I need is in You
Everything I need

Christ my all in all
The joy of my salvation
And this hope will never fail
Heaven is our home

Through every storm
My soul will sing
Jesus is here
To God be the glory

I have decided to follow Jesus
No turning back
No turning back

The cross before me
The world behind me
No turning back
No turning back

Listen to the song “Christ is Enough by Hillsong”. Here’s the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9fTw9MLKAo

 

Your sweetest Melody, ❤

Leave a comment